top of page
DSC02426.jpg
  • Writer's pictureMolly McCoy

Panko Breaded Chicken Tenders

Updated: May 31, 2019



Back in my picking eating days, chicken was a favorite of mine. You know those Tyson breaded chicken tenders? I'm not joking, I lived and breathed them!

Growing up, my mom used to buy a big bag of Tyson chicken tenders EVERY trip to Costco. We're talking a bag or two. In our family, chicken tenders weren't safe. We ate them fast! Even though I didn't like many foods as a kid, I would absolutely devour a man sized portion of chicken tenders. It was always a good night if we were having panko chicken, Rice-A-Roni rice pilaf, and a side of brussels sprouts. For years, that meal was hands down my favorite of all time!

Flash forward to my senior year of high school, I started focusing a lot more on using food as a fuel source. Being an extremely active individual competing year round in sports, I had to make sure that I was taking in foods that helped me preform to my best ability. Competing in volleyball, basketball, track, and and attending 6:30am weight training 4x per week demanded proper nutrition!

Long story short, my love for cooking and baking came to be and I started recreating my favorite foods with ingredients that fueled me.

A recent lack of quality chicken tenders in my life brought to light this recipe. I am not a fan of sodium packed foods (like most store bought items) and I cannot stand when my breaded chicken is too greasy or too soggy. That's an actual crisis, one that keeps coming up again and again with almost all store bought or frozen chicken tenders. I wanted to make a recipe that produced some tenders that were juicy on the inside but extra crunchy on the outside!

This recipe uses panko breadcrumbs instead of regular breaded coating resulting a thicker, cruncher outer layer.

I promise you these chicken tenders are BOUND to be both a kid and crowd favorite!

Enjoy!


 

Panko Breaded Chicken Tenders

Time | 30 Minutes

Difficulty | Easy

Serves | 3-4 People



Ingredients

  • 1 lb of chicken breast tenders

  • 1/2 cup of plain panko breadcrumbs

  • 1/4 cup of egg whites

  • 1 tbsp of onion salt

  • 1 tsp of paprika

  • 1/2 tsp of black pepper

  • 1/4 tsp of pink Himalayan salt


Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 365º and spray a foil lined cookie sheet with nonstick spray.

  2. In a small bowl, mix together the panko breadcrumbs, onion salt, paprika, black pepper, and salt. Use a fork to mix together all the dry ingredients.

  3. Pour the panko mixture onto a flat plate and spread evenly around.

  4. Use the bowl that previously held the dry ingredients and pour the egg whites in.

  5. Take each chicken tender and coat it in egg whites. Then the chicken tender over to the panko mixture for dredging. Make sure to flip it over to cover each side with panko before setting each tender on the tray.

  6. Once each piece of the chicken tenders have been thoroughly coated with breadcrumbs, place in the oven for 15-20 minutes. You'll know the tenders are done once the panko breadcrumbs around the outside begin to brown and become crunchy.

  7. Once they are finished, remove from the oven and allow to cool on the countertop for 3-5 minutes before serving!

  8. Enjoy with your favorite dips and sauces!

  9. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to one week. Or freeze to be reheated at a later date.


Let's be real here. I'm 20 years old and this recipe, along with variations of it are constantly on repeat for me. You don't have to be a kiddo to enjoy this recipe, it's truly an easy, tasty meal for anyone!


 


I don't know about you, but I would rather have my recipes printed out rather than online. I like to be able to write my own substitutions and notes so having a hard copy is essential for me! I'm toying around with creating printables for all my recipes from here on out. Let me know if this is something you'd like to continue seeing for all the recipes!

Go ahead and click on this picture and it'll take you to a printable PDF version of the recipe!



6 views0 comments

コメント


EATS

bottom of page