top of page
DSC02426.jpg
  • Writer's pictureMolly McCoy

Creamy Purple Chicken Fettuccine


Shirataki noodles are definitely one of the most interesting ingredients you'll find in my refrigerator.

I'm not a low-carb type of gal. It's quite apparent that I love bread and pasta more than anyone you'll ever meet! But the pure convenience and al dente texture of pre-cooked shirataki noodles is something special that I can't quite put my finger on. I'm partial to the Nasoya brand of shirataki noodles; they don't take on a fishy smell like most shirataki. Rather, they have a slight earthy aroma that washes away when you rinse them. These qualities have helped them retain a regular spot on my grocery list and turned the oddly delicious shirataki noodles into a major staple of mine.

For the Nasoya shirataki noodles, each package is only about 8 grams of carbs. For those out there who do prefer to eat low-carb, these noodles are absolutely ideal for you! Or if you plan on having a big, extravagant dessert (I know I've been guilty of this!) you can swap these for your usual pasta. Nonetheless, these noodles are a great addition to anyone's weekly meals! The texture and taste are extremely similar to regular pasta, you surely won't miss your usual noodles!

Initially I created this recipe on accident. I was trying to eat all of the food in my fridge before I was to head home for the summer and happened to have a few [too many] packages of fettuccine shirataki noodles, a head of purple cabbage, and some Laughing Cow cheese wedges. I was sort of mortified throwing this meal together, I'm not overly excited by the idea of cabbage. It's not my favorite vegetable, I only love it in chicken soup. But out of pure refusal to waste food, I set out to turn cabbage into something delectable.

Now the best part of this dish isn't the cabbage, it's the sauce. I didn't have much to work with, but for this sauce to be delicious, it turns out I didn't need to work with much! It's rich and creamy, everything that a white sauce should be. As a wild added bonus, the purple cabbage dyes the shirataki noodles purple! It's a fun meal to dive into, surely funny looking but trust me when I say this dish is everything that is good and great in life!

 

Creamy Purple Chicken Fettuccine

Time | 30 Minutes

Difficulty | Easy

Serves | 1 Person



Ingredients

  • 1 package of shirataki noodles

  • 3-4 ounces of cooked and shredded chicken breast

  • 1 cup of cabbage

  • 1 cup of purple cabbage

  • 2 tbsp of minced red onion

  • 1/2 tbsp of condensed beef stock

  • 1 tsp of onion salt

  • 1/2 tsp of garlic powder

  • A pinch of nutritional yeast

For the Alfredo sauce:

  • 2 original Laughing Cow cheese wedges

  • 1 tbsp of mayonnaise

  • 2 tbsp of milk

  • A pinch of black pepper



Instructions

  1. Begin by roughly chopping both types of cabbage into 1/4 inch sized pieces and toss them into a preheated (on medium), lightly greased pan.

  2. Add in the beef stock, onion salt, and garlic powder. Sauté these ingredients until the cabbage feels a little softer to the touch. For this recipe, we want the cabbage to be soft but not mushy. Once the cabbage is halfway done, add in the minced onion and continue to sauté until the cabbage is appropriately cooked and the onions are beginning to take on a golden color.

  3. While the cabbage is cooking, strain and rinse your shirataki fettuccine noodles and set aside. I find that the Nasoya brand needs to be clipped a bit because the noodles are so long so after rinsing, I highly recommend taking a pair of scissors to the noodles to shorten them a bit!

  4. Next, you want to begin to make your Alfredo. In a small bowl, combine all the ingredients listed for the sauce and stir a bit. Microwave the Alfredo for 15 seconds to soften the ingredients a bit more, then continue stirring until all chunks are gone.

  5. Once the cabbage and onions are ready, add the noodles and sauté them in the vegetables for about a minute before adding the Alfredo sauce and turning the stovetop down to a low/med heat.

  6. Continue stirring and cooking the mixture until almost all the Alfredo thickens and becomes more viscous in consistency.

  7. Immediately remove the pan from the heat and allow a few minutes to cool before plating and serving; or store up to 3 days in an airtight container.



 

There you have it! This recipe is currently a part of my everyday meal prep for work at my summer job. If I decide I'm not hungry enough for it one day, I know it'll keep for awhile and still taste freshly cooked when heated up. Alternatively, you can make this recipe with regular fettuccine noodles, but it's all up to you and your preferences.

Happy munching, friends!


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


EATS

bottom of page