top of page
DSC02426.jpg
  • Writer's pictureMolly McCoy

Almond Joy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Updated: May 31, 2019



I got introduced to the Fat & Weird Cookie, got my hands on a few, and since then, I haven't stopped thinking about huge, soft baked chocolate chip cookies...

Back when my friends and I got together to have a barbecue on Easter Sunday (before I ordered my cookies earlier this month), I knew I had a shot to try and create my own 'fat and weird' cookies. When I'm brainstorming a recipe, I usually loose sleep at night running through all the different flavor combinations and baking techniques I can think of. So you can bet the night before Easter, I was wide awake jotting down this recipe!

Now I was a huge fan of Mounds and Almond Joy right before I had to jump off the dairy train so I decided to base my recipe of those delicious chocolate bars. If you ask me, the bar was set pretty high, who doesn't love a chunky chocolate bar & who doesn't love a chunky cookie?! These bad boys HAD to be perfect. What I had in mind was a cookie crunchy on the outside, but soft and borderline uncooked on the inside. Essentially, every cookie lover's dream.

What this resulted in was a cookie that had all of the chocolate, coconut, and almonds I could fit in the bowl without the whole thing overflowing! I also used a little whole wheat flour to help make a thicker batter to ensure that the inside of the cookie remained soft-baked and molten. I'm not the best baker but after the first batch came out of the oven, I had to do a little happy dance, they turned out better than I'd imagined.

So buckle up friends, these cookies are guaranteed to rock your world!


 

Almond Joy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Time | 1 hour

Difficulty | Easy

Servings | 12



Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour

  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour

  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda

  • 1 tsp of baking powder

  • 1/2 tsp of salt

  • 1/2 cup of coconut sugar

  • 1/4 cup of brown sugar

  • 1 egg

  • 1 cup of full fat coconut milk

  • 1 1/2 tbsp of ghee (can sub for butter)

  • 1 tbsp of almond butter

  • 1 tsp of almond extract

  • 1 cup of roughly chopped almonds

  • 1 cup of shredded coconut

  • 1 (10 oz) bag of chocolate chips


Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 375º.

  2. Measure out and sift all the dry ingredients into a bowl. Use a whisk to fully incorporate all the dry ingredients.

  3. In a large mixing bowl, beat together the egg, coconut milk, ghee, almond butter, and almond extract.

  4. Once the wet ingredients are well mixed, slowly add in the dry ingredients about 1/2 a cup at a time. Once all the ingredients have been incorporated, beat on medium to high for about one minute to fully mix everything and ensure no clumping.

  5. Roughly chop the almonds then add them, the coconut, and chocolate chips to the mixing bowl. Beat for another 1-2 minutes on medium to high.

  6. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray with nonstick spray.

  7. Using a large spoon and your hands, form 2 1/2 inch balls and evenly space them on the baking sheet. The batter will stick to your hands due to the tendencies of whole wheat flour. Just use the spoon to scrape it off your hands and (eat it or) put back in the bowl!

  8. Place the cookies in the oven and bake for 12-15 minutes. You'll know they're done with the tops are golden brown and the bottoms are a dark, deep brown.

  9. Scoop the cookies off the baking sheet and place them on a cooling rack. Cool for 5 minutes before taking a bite!

  10. Store these cookies in an airtight container; that is, if they last that long!


14 views0 comments

Comments


EATS

bottom of page